“My daddy went to jail for running moonshine!”

If there were any doubt that Elizabeth Cook has the humour as well as the musical talent that reflects the great Dolly Parton the Ironbath would like to share this video of Elizabeth Cook interviewed on the Late Show with David Letterman promoting her radio show.

The Ironbath saw Elizabeth at the Cambridge Folk Festival a few years past and was immediately taken by her charm. She interupted her set with a short dance routine, as if her music wasn’t sufficient entertainment. She is clearly from the same mould that formed Dolly, and even if that Dollyesque image has been created to market her, then the Ironbath isn’t one to complain.

Dolly Parton is a heroine of country music who has always just managed to be relevant if not exactly cool, and her latest CD, ‘Better Day’ is great listening and is the type of music that should come on the radio as you drive to work and bounce around your head, cheering up your day, until it is time to come home again.

The Ironbath’s Top 3 Dollyisms

  1. I would have been tall but I got all bunched up on top
  2. I look at my songs like my children and I expect them to look after me when I get old.
  3. When Michael Parkinson asked solemly “What do you want people to say about you in fifty years time?” and she replied as quick as a flash, “My – doesn’t she look good for her age!”
About Ironbath

The Ironbath is a passionate music lover.
This entry was posted in Dolly Parton, Elizabeth Cook. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “My daddy went to jail for running moonshine!”

  1. Alan Perry says:

    “I don’t eat that stuff.”
    Priceless.

  2. Brenda Rosser says:

    One of my favorite Dollyisms: On being asked was she offended by dumb blonde jokes, she replied, “I’m not offended at all because I know I’m not dumb. I also know I’m not blonde.”

Leave a Reply

